17 Fantastic St. Patrick's Day Books for Elementary Kids

Children's books Picture books St. Patrick's Day

It is hard to believe how quickly time passes. It seems like not so long ago we were celebrating the new year and now we are beginning February. Pretty soon March will be here and with it St. Patrick's Day.

There are so many whimsical stories associated with St. Patrick's Day. From leprechauns, to pots of gold, to lucky four-leaf clovers, it truly is a day filled with wonder and magic. 

To help you teach your child about this day and to add to the fun, we have compiled a list of 17 fantastic St. Patrick's Day books for elementary kids. You can find links to all of the books below, a quick description of each one and the recommended reading ages.

We truly think you and your children will enjoy these wonderful stories.

17 Fantastic St. Patrick's Day Books for Elementary Kids

{This post contains affiliate links, which means I receive a small commission, at no extra cost to you, if you make a purchase using this link.}

 

Ten Lucky Leprechauns by Deborah Hembrook and Kathryn Heling

  • Ages: 3-5
  • Count from one to ten as one little leprechaun looking for treasure magically becomes ten silly leprechaun friends at the end of the rainbow! A humorous, rhyming celebration of St. Patrick's Day!

 

Pete the Cat: The Great Leprechaun Chase by James Dean

  • Ages: 4-8
  • It's St. Patrick's Day, and it's also the grand opening of Pete the Cat's leprechaun catching business. Pete gears up to trap a leprechaun for his friends! But catching a leprechaun is never easy—especially if it’s Clover, who's full of tricks.
 

There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Clover! By Lucille Colandro

  • Ages: 4-10
  • She's back! That lovely old lady has returned just in time for St. Patrick's Day. Now she's swallowing items to make the perfect rainbow to hide a pot of gold.

 

The Berenstain Bears’ St. Patrick’s Day by Mike Berenstain

  • Ages: 4-8
  • Join Papa, Mama, and the cubs as Gramps introduces them to some of the traditions most associated with the holiday, from gathering to enjoy a parade down Main Street to leprechauns and pots of gold.

 

How to Catch a Leprechaun by Adam Wallace

  •  Ages: 4-10
  • Start a St. Patrick's Day tradition with this fun and lively children's picture book and get inspired to build leprechaun traps of your own at home or in the classroom! Laugh along in this zany story for kids that blends STEAM concepts with hilarious rhymes and vibrant illustrations!

 

The Luckiest St. Patrick's Day Ever by Teddy Slater

  • Ages: 4-8 
  • Teddy Slater's delightful rhyming story shows the Leprechauns gathered for their favorite day of the year. Join them as they celebrate St. Patrick's Day with music, dancing, and a parade!

 

The Night Before St. Patrick's Day by Natasha Wing

  • Ages: 4-8
  • Natasha Wing puts an Irish twist on a Christmas classic. It's the night before St. Patrick's Day, and Tim and Maureen are wide awake setting traps to catch a leprechaun! When they wake the next morning to the sound of their dad playing the bagpipes and the smell of their mom cooking green eggs, they're shocked to find that they've actually caught a leprechaun. But will they be able to find his pot of gold? 

 

Pout-Pout Fish: Lucky Leprechaun by Deborah Diesen

Ages: 2-5

Celebrate St. Patrick's Day with the Pout-Pout Fish in The Pout-Pout Fish: Lucky Leprechaun! Will Mr. Fish and his friends find their pot of gold?

 

That's What Leprechauns Do by Eve Bunting

  • Ages: 4-7
  • What do leprechauns do? They bury a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow, of course. But as Mrs. Bally Bunion’s ox, Miss Maude Murphy’s hen, and Old Jamie soon find out, they can’t resist having a little fun along the way. For, besides burying pots of gold, mischief is what leprechauns do!

Jamie O'Rourke and the Big Potato by Tomie dePaola

  • Ages: 4-8
  • Jamie O’Rourke is the laziest man in all of Ireland, far too lazy to help his wife on their farm. Then, after a chance encounter with a leprechaun, Jamie finds himself growing the biggest potato in the world. But what will happen when the potato grows too large for Jamie and the villagers to handle?

 

Tim O'Toole and the Wee Folk by Gerald McDermott

  • Ages: 5-9
  • Tim O’Toole and his wife, Kathleen, are so poor they have not a penny or a potato between them. Even their cats are too skinny for the mice to chase! When Tim goes out to find a job, he stumbles upon “the wee folk”—a band of leprechauns who give him gifts to make his fortune. That is, if Tim can keep clear of the evil McGoon family. . .

 

Fiona’s Luck by Teresa Bateman

  • Ages: 4-8
  • The luck of the Irish has waned after the greedy Leprechaun King has taken all the good fortune in Ireland and locked it away. It is up to one cunning girl, Fiona to come up with a plan to get the luck and good tidings back from the leprechauns to help the people of Ireland. Through clever charades, Fiona uses her wit to outsmart the powerful Leprechaun King and restore luck to the Emerald Isle.

 

Patrick: Patron Saint of Ireland by Tomie dePaola

  • Ages: 5-8
  • Beloved children's book author-illustrator Tomie dePaola recounts the life of Saint Patrick—from his noble birth in Britain, to his captivity in Ireland, to the visions which led him to return and found the first Christian church in Ireland. 

 

I'm a Leprechaun (Little Golden Book) by Mallory Loehr

  • Ages: 2-5
  • This adorable Little Golden Book that introduces the magical, mischievous leprechaun. Famous for hiding pots of gold, did you know that leprechauns are also talented shoemakers? This fun book filled with bold, colorful illustrations is great for sharing with boys and girls on St. Patrick's Day or any day!

    Lucky Tucker by Leslie McGuirk

    • Ages: 2-5
    • After rolling in a patch of four-leaf clovers on St. Patrick's Day, Tucker the terrier goes from having nothing go his way to becoming the luckiest dog of the day.

     

    The 12 Days of St. Patrick's Day by Jenna Lettice

    • Ages: 3-7
    • Count the 12 days of St. Patrick's Day with this fun-filled picture book inspired by "The 12 Days of Christmas"--perfect for fans of Natasha Wing's The Night Before series.

     

    How to Trap a Leprechaun by Sue Fliess

    • Ages: 3-6
    • Sue Fliess’s read-aloud text and Emma Randall’s whimsical illustrations will provide much fun for young readers eager to catch their very own leprechaun! But beware: leprechauns may leave you with nothing but a cardboard box and a shoe or two.

    We hope you love this list of 17 Fantastic St. Patrick's Day Books for Elementary Kids as much as we do. 

     


    Older Post Newer Post


    Leave a comment

    Please note, comments must be approved before they are published